Chat! culturecrossfire.slack.com

Other people in a specific area are suddenly receiving my group texts

Dandy

Reaction score
So my two best friends and I were going about our usual routine group text as life has moved us states away from each other. I responded with a text that merely said “Thank you,” when all of a sudden additional group texts with the three of us and one random phone number with a Nashville area code responded. So far, three separate Nashville phone numbers have group texted the three of us questioning who we are or why we texted them. One asked if I was a specific person, “Mr.Wyatt,” so I thought I should respond with an answer to let them know I was not. I explained what was happening and they responded that my explanation was very professional and asked what I do for a living.

This is weeeeeird. We are having fun with it though.

HarleyQuinn

Laugh This Off... Puddin'!
Staff member
Reaction score
Could be somebody who's spoofed that area code/phone number?

Dandy

Reaction score
I don’t see how.

Picture a group text between you and two of your friends that has been going on for years. All of a sudden, three different phone numbers respond to your group text, effectively creating three new group texts. Our original group text is going on, and no one seems to be getting those messages. It was merely my on response of “Thank you” that apparently was sent to random Nashville numbers as one person responded, “Whoever this is, you’re welcome.”

It is very weird and not sure how my one text inadvertently reached multiple people living hours and hours away from each of us.

vivisectvi

Integral Poster
Reaction score
Is this all over iPhone and iMessage? It could be a fuck-up through iCloud as I've had something similar happen before..

If you get tried of it, you and your pals should get a data messenger like WhatsApp or switch to an encrypted SMS app like Signal. ;)

Dandy

Reaction score